I've been thinking about food a lot lately. It sounds silly, given the fact that we all HAVE to think about this topic for our projects, but I'm taking it to heart. I've started questioning how I feel after I eat fast food. I never feel good, but I also ignore those feelings because I simply don't have time to do something about it. I am always, always on the run. I don't make time to prepare food for at-the-time consumption nor for future eating. I always find something else that's more important, that requires more of my time. But ignorance is not bliss. I have to face the fact that eating better is something that must become a priority in my life.

I spent a good half hour in the four or so organic aisles of Wegmans last night examining prices and food choices. I used to think that eating organic was some hippie deal...which you'd think I would be into since I am a hippie at heart. But I never gave it a passing thought. Until now, that is. I'm starting to realize that "going organic" may be better for both me and my environment. It also didn't mean I had to be ridiculous about it. Sometimes there are things I want that I can't find in those aisles or that I simply like the way they are. But I am starting to make the switch.

I bought some organic chips and cheese balls and bananas. I wanted to buy the organic strawberries (they actually looked better than the regular ones) but I just couldn't afford the extra money for them. Rome wasn't built in a day, though, and what goes into my stomach won't change overnight. The seed has been planted, however, and I look forward to budgeting so I can afford the organic food. I've even got my mom on board. It feels good to be on the ball about something. I'm happy to be opening my mind and my choices up to someth



Leave a Reply.